Poets logo

I Am Pride

What the Pride Flag Means to Me

By Olivia GyuranPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1

I am a rainbow of colour.

May the sun’s light shine on me.

May the colours dazzle me in their splendor,

May they adorn me in robes so fine:

Dancing and diaphanous,

Twirling and unconfined.

I stand, shining like a beacon of love and hope,

Rosy and glowing with the power of life coursing through my body.

Shining in the bearing of my spirit,

The rainbow flag parades forth, unashamed of its power and untamed freedom.

Red, blazing and hot, it drives my soul, it awakens my sleepy heart.

The anger and hate that rots within

Is transformed and and fueled into something new and passionate,

A purpose rekindled in its dying hearth to a roaring flame:

I am wild,

I am free.

Orange, shining and festive, it warms my soul, it opens my hurting heart.

Casting the doors wide, and leaving no shadow in the footsteps of its being,

The pure and unconditional joy that I have held hostage is freed:

I am happy,

I am unique.

Yellow, soft and pastel, it renews my soul, it lightens my heavy heart,

Reminding me of the light and of the grace of my present.

There is no need to be burdened by the past or the future:

I am young,

I am clear.

Green, healthy and tranquil, it forgives my soul, it calms my anxious heart,

Giving me a sacred space to love, to feel, and to simply be.

Like a river, it washes over my worries and my fears:

I am balanced,

I am healed.

Blue, deep and insightful, it strengthens my soul, it supports my grieving heart.

It surrounds me in a cool blanket of serenity and power,

The pain; it soothes, the weak; it empowers:

I am secure,

I am calm.

Purple, vibrant and mystical, it glories my soul, it praises my hard- working heart.

My struggles and challenges see their end, and raise their well- earned trophy of royalty, wisdom, and devotion.

Doubt and vacillation is extinguished in its fiercesome presence:

I am proud,

I am magic.

I stand, lighting a path and guiding those who are still in the dark,

Holding hands with friends and loved ones.

They each shine in their own special light, holding that flag high.

And united, we rise together above all hate, anger, and greed.

We are an aurora of spiraling and intertwining rays,

A rainbow of diversity and freedom:

We are beautiful,

We are one.

-Olivia Gyuran

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Olivia Gyuran

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.