Poets logo

I am not broken

When Self-Help becomes Self Loathing

By Melancholic MamaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
I am not broken
Photo by Cherry Laithang on Unsplash

I am not broken

but I have felt broken under the weight of everything I am not and yet thought I should be

I am not broken

but I have jumped eagerly at every chance to fix myself

I am not broken

but all too often I walk through life as if I am

So, no

I am not broken

but I am actively shedding all of the layers of my not self

I am refining

redefining

aligning

shining

becoming more and more me

because what else is there to be

if not free

I am not broken

so I am done pretending to be

inspirational

About the Creator

Melancholic Mama

I no longer know who I am, but I do know what I am

A mother and a wife

A woman lost in the sea of life

I don't know if I will ever be a who again, or if I am doomed to live the rest of my days as a mere what

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Melancholic MamaWritten by Melancholic Mama

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.