Poets logo

I Am Not Alone, You Are Not Alone

---for we are always home.

By Barb SnodgrassPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
"Whitman at home"

FACING today which owns the

hours I'll promenade in,

christening the steps to sculpt myself

omniscience of the omnibus

leather bounds, on how, to heal.

For I'm a child of this earthen soil,

brother to the wind and rain,

I ask, my fraternal howling wind and

pelting rain if my scars will ever heal

I hear, whispering from the

marching clouds donning

various shades of gunmetal steal

"these are answers no one has,

besides the grove of savan trees at the end

of the trail of tears before you;

so old they concurred eons ago

to shed their leaves,

trading their veiny green waving skins

to become telepaths.

Roots outstretching for days underground,

ancient tentacles daydreaming

in dead languages.

Groves of oak & willow oracles

may hold the answer to the raw

festering wounds hampering your mood,

leaving you bitter"

at once I, an experient, debouched upon the muddy

path

when swiftly the epiphany dawns upon me,

I'm by myself---

this journey is not reconnoitered en masse,

the entire battle is inside me

nobody to converse with

nobody to laugh with ,

nobody to stand as my accoucheur,

not a body to buttress the walls

as my brain is collapsing upon itself,

panic ensues,

and I deflate into depression

stiff---my back begins to ache,

a nagging pain seizes my stomach,

a wretched rash upon my skin

---I can't breath

my eyeballs become glued

to the deepening redness

sprouting from my body---

hives forming atop my skin,

seeing my blood vessels throbbing,

now asthmatically constricting,

sending the pressure within to souring

---heights

I loafe, scuffing the tops of the toes

I lean and loafe, my foofoos bow

pupils darting---foggy eyes split my vision to double

planting the ball of my egregiously heavy foot

pivoting to spin 'round in defeat when---

sunshine burrows through the water-logged clouds

striking a solitary spear of emerald grass, it's own flying buttress,

whipping in the abominable gale of slashing wind

my tongue springs; abducting

every atom of my blood to dance

every atom form'd from this soil I'm rooted in

this air I'm breathing---in my prime,

four decades old and in perfect health

my nostrils fill with nature's flowering perfumes

crowding the shelves of my memory palace ---untold perfumes

inhaling the botanical fragrances,

intoxicated by the distillation

the atmospheric oxygen unscented, without taste

no distillation---odorless

I ADORE IT!

I've gone over.

Eclipsing the edge,

mad, flooded with everything

flooded with everything

that my earthen family is

everything my earthly family has to offer

light kisses,

the collision of embracing arms,

the waltz of shinning sunbeams and shade

of cumulus clouds delighting with company in our home

I'm not alone,

no matter if trudging city streets of pot-holed concrete,

dry grassy hill-sides, or flourishing fields

I AM NOT ALONE. YOU ARE NOT ALONE.

in the high noon trill,

I can hear the swelling playbill of my song

---rising,

to the light crystal sapphire sky,

a date with the sun

have ya reckon'd the explosion 'a life much?

the phantasmagoria drowning your brain

when ya glimpse terror in't eye of 'a animal?

have you reckon'd on that

DNA embedded connection much?

a school of 10,000 swimming fish much?

have you ever waxed ecstatic at the

guts of a poem?

it's inner workings of synch'd clock gears?

ever floated into a daydream on the rhythm

of it's timing and if it fits Debussy seated at

his piano strik'in a few chords?

syntactic parallelism?

anaphora or epiphora?

asyndetic coordinat'ons?

symploces or asyndetons? "veni, vidi, vici"

I came, I saw, I conquered

the creeping darkness, the rotting cancer

that was lurking

inside me

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.