Poets logo

I am my own

Leave me alone

By R JPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

I wanted to be your priority.

I was never mine so how could I have been yours.

You say it's a work of destiny

Same poles could cause chaos.

You knew I hated to be a public figure

Didn't mean i was okay alone with the mirror.

The me in the mirror hated you

Cause the me in the mirror knew the truth.

Scars on her face masked with a smile

Don't say it's fate that you won't be mine.

I'm mostly emotionless

I'm not human, that's what they said.

Would you have helped me in distress.

You knew the faces I made were all false

I showed you me and the Marks left from my claws.

You knew it hurt yet you left me in dark.

I don't want you, and I don't need you.

I said I'll do it myself, didn't I?

So step aside, would you?

You were never the home I longed for,

Yet you convinced me you were good.

I ain't your puppet,

I handle my own strings

I'm gonna shine and show you my wings.

They ain't monochrome, no more.

I painted them better than you could.

They don't pull me down like you did

They told me there's no need to hide

They said I could be my moon.

And yes I know that I can smile without you.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.