Poets logo

I Am

Duality

By Luke GlaspyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
I Am
Photo by Jonathan Rados on Unsplash

I am covered in dust,

And soaked by the rain,

I am swine,

A dead man walking,

And I don't mind

---

I am a dancer with four feet,

One right,

And three left,

---

I am the stretched canvas,

And the painter in the street,

---

I am an anarchist,

And an antichrist,

I am a dangerous man,

And a sheep,

---

But I don't mind,

---

I am a young man,

With an old soul,

I am a fighter,

Filled with hate,

---

I am a lover,

And I am miserable,

---

I am the lost wind from the south,

A beggar with no front teeth,

I am the bridge from here to there,

And the fire in the trees,

---

I am the homeless and the hopeless,

The heartless and the starving,

I am the left turn,

The right turn,

And the chaos in-between,

---

I am the one guiding traffic,

And the blower of the horn,

But I don't mind,

I never do,

---

I am a fallen leaf,

And the flower freshly bloomed,

I am a smiling stranger,

And six kinds of insane,

---

I am the bringer of light,

And the darkness that follows,

I am the report of a twisted soul,

The words not spoken,

The sounds never heard,

---

I am the roar of humanity,

The grey in the morning,

And the warmth high above,

---

I am the sharp call of a distant bird,

The listless roll of a steady train,

I am the funk in the gutter,

And the break-beat in your brain,

---

I am silk fresh and smooth,

And the stone that cuts your feet,

I am the tar that coats your lungs,

The air that lifts the smoke,

And the spirits seen within,

---

I am the clouds that hide the moon,

And the sins of many men,

---

I am the river running hopeful to the sea,

And the trash riding swiftly with her,

I am the oil that clogs the bay,

A footprint etched in stone,

---

I am man,

And I am God,

I am stardust,

And empty space,

---

I am the creator,

And the destroyer,

I am ugly,

And I am beautiful,

---

I am terrible,

And I am kind,

---

But I do not mind,

I do not mind.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.