Poets logo

I Am Color Blind

That never stopped me from painting

By Michael X ChristopherPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
2
Joy Mountain by Michael X Christopher

I’m color blind

That never stopped me from painting

I’ll keep on creating

Putting color onto canvas

Some people act like I planned this

At least you are not blind, they say

But they haven’t spent a minute

with me all day

When sunsets fade to grey

And you have nothing left to say

Except, I love you

I still do and always will

It’s not about me though

Mistaking hurricane waves

For purpose and passion

I learned to be perfect

Only, perfect doesn’t exist

Choose a path

Inspired by bliss

Give a loved one

A kiss

Sometimes I smile when I take a piss

I can feel the fluid move through me

I celebrate this

I decided to become a painter

Knowing full well I can’t paint what you see

Have you ever seen a dog panting?

I’m painting

Elation

Even though

I’m color blind

I can still rhyme

And spit truth

On time

Perhaps, I should have been a poet instead

Steadily increasing my knowledge of iambic pentameter

I’m always mad around her

And him

Everyone told me, you’ll never succeed at this

How could you believe in yourself so much?

How can you trust

In something greater?

When you’ve been shot down

So many times before

It’s quite easy,

I say

I have nothing left but a paintbrush,

And a notebook

And a pen

To paint what I say

I paint what I hear

Instead of eyes

I use

Ears

Laughter truly is the best medicine

I’m blessed to have friends and

Family, who I can turn to

If I’m feeling down

I focus my attention on helping others

Or I call one of my brothers

In the beloved

Blessed

They say the best time to plant a tree

Is twenty years ago

Second best time

Is now

In this moment I surrender

Somehow

It’s beautiful painting with broken eyes

I see things clearer now

I paint the skies

Actually, there’s nothing wrong with my mind

Or my eyes for that matter

Matter of fact I’m blessed

To kiss canvas that

Touches others so deeply

I’m retreating into me

Searching for epiphany

Listen to me

With open ears

I hear a symphony of sounds

Live a life of love

Exist inside the now

It’s the only thing we have

We will make it somehow

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Michael X Christopher

B.S. in Biology. Thrive. Write. Repeat

Author at www.epiphanyartistry.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.