Poets logo

I am beautiful. I am me.

Bipolar is a world full of so many shades.

By Erin ShieldsPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 2 min read
9
Image by garageband from Pixabay

My brain is dysfunctional

or some would say...

to me it is a bright vast intricately complex world.

*

It is full, bursting at the seams

carrying all my hopes and dreams.

Everyone else see’s in uniform -

their brains don’t swell with emotions.

*

Happiness so overwhelming it leaves me euphoric,

or sadness that cries out in the deepest darkest depths

of the icy blue sea, as if I‘m so deep there’s no way out.

*

Others see in shades of beige and greys.

Dull reds, light blues and if your lucky

maybe a yellow or two.

*

My mind is simply unique,

Not that I’d have it any other way.

I can be a fiery deep dark red,

trickling in my head

when I’m so full of rage.

*

I seep black from my dark eyes,

when I’m taken, gripped by my demons

who love to see me cry.

*

Then the next day I get up, I’m alright -

better than alright, I feel amazing, fantastic.

As if the world couldn’t be any brighter;

a stunning shade of daffodil yellow wading

through the darkness of yesterday.

*

Pinks, swirls of cerise, deep maroons

and luscious royal golden circles.

These are the days I long for.

When the mania hits and leaves me

happier than anyone could really understand.

*

You see what makes me unique is I’m not like you.

I don’t feel like you, or see the world like you.

Everything is so much more dull, colours are muted.

But when I feel, and truly feel, it compares to no other.

*

Bipolar allows me to see every colour on the spectrum,

every single shade in all it’s glory.

I see the brightest and the darkest in this world

and I fear I don’t know how to live in the in betweens,

the dull greys of the suited and booted.

*

The strong sturdy reliable browns;

I am not sturdy nor reliable.

I am not a perfectly crafted leather bound

journal but I am a canvas wild and free.

I am blank ready to be made into a work of art.

I am the paint splattered and splashed everywhere.

I am the mess, the chaos, the impulsive side.

I am loud, proud, beautiful and full of life.

I am anything but grey.

- Erin 4th May 2021

Let’s celebrate our uniqueness, our differences, and everything that others see as wrong or as a negative. Let’s take it back and be proud of who we are, no matter what.

social commentary
9

About the Creator

Erin Shields

27. England. Poet. I have Bipolar, BPD & Anxiety. I’ve been writing since I was 18 as an outlet for my mental health.

I also have a Ko-Fi with more of my work: https://ko-fi.com/erin

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.