Poets logo

I Am A Badass

And for that I can be proud

By Colleen Millsteed Published 2 years ago 2 min read
12
Image courtesy of Pixabay

I’m aware that I don’t know everything about life

But I can attest to this — there was many a time,

When I have definitely kicked life’s ass, so literally

And times when life has successfully kicked mine.

***

There were even a few times when down and out

That I would have happily chosen death over living,

When I could not imagine my own life continuing

Learning that life was tough and very unforgiving.

***

But then I’d find my fight, the strength I needed

When death would come knocking on my door,

It was then that I realised I had much to live for

And my dance with death was one I deplore.

***

Still there were times when I was my own enemy

I successfully sabotaged my life again and again,

I grew to know and love the darkness intimately

Until I soon realised it was the source of my pain.

***

If you could trace all my scars, from head to toe

You’d soon learn my body was the battleground,

There’s a story for every scar, every horrid torment

Some heard me scream, others not utter a sound.

***

If I was to tell you my tales, we’d be here all day

As I have a suitcase full of pain, a heart of regret,

A closet of wishes, a bed of sorrows and lastly

A locked chest, full to the brim, of my secrets.

***

At times it seemed to be a sick cycle never ending

A futile life, wasted or so it had lead me to believe,

I was shaken to my core, wondering what I could do

And how it was that this life could so badly deceive.

***

So I was left with one final decision; give up or fight

I beat against life with my relentless bloodied fists,

And realised I should be proud of who I’ve become

I was a warrior, a fighter against life’s harrowed kiss.

***

My scars are worn as badges, along with my pride

I have earned every single mark, my hard won prize,

I am a badass for even making it this far, a survivor

Walking with my head held high, a smile in my eyes.

*************************************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

inspirational
12

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Gideon 6ix2 years ago

    Excellent work friend! The asterisks are an excellent way to break up the stanzas. Thank you for sharing!

  • Linda Rivenbark2 years ago

    You published this in the right place..."Inspirational". I admire your strength, grit, and endurance. I love your poetry and other writing.

  • Powerful poem. My favorite part: There’s a story for every scar, every horrid torment Some heard me scream, others not utter a sound.

  • Dawn Salois2 years ago

    So powerful and inspirational!

  • Such a powerful poem!

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    Another Excellent poem ,hearted 🌹♥️🥰🎉

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.