Poets logo

I Am

poem

By Shaunya JoynerPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
I AM

I am annoyed, saying I’m a writer, writing movies & songs all that seem so elementary.

I am elementary, I attempt to write about things like love, though I’ve never loved a lover who loved me

I am a lover, though to me it seems like I haven’t really been given a chance

I am unchosen, all I don’t do is win & all the hands don’t go up and they stay that way

I am not popular, but I am not ungrateful because a few true friends is better than lots of back stabbers

I am a true friend, I will love you all the time, I’ll call you, I’ll text you, I’ll give you advice when you need me to

I am an advisor, I give good advice to others though I can’t seem to to help myself

I am helpless is that simple I can’t be helped. Not by man, not by woman and sometimes not even God

I am a child of God. A daughter to the father who I would follow to the ends of the earth

I am loyal. I will follow him though I seem to trail off sometimes, I always come back and he will fulfill me

I am not fulfilled, sad but true, I still have a long road to travel, with twists and turns and ups and downs but I will conquer through

I am a conqueror, I don’t feel I am sometimes but I am, I felt unloved and unwanted and I chose not to take my life

I am alive, though I do not love myself, I get better each and every day even though I don’t feel pretty

I am bold, elegant, amazing, unique, talented, independent, fearless/ ferocious, undeniably graceful and loved, though I don’t always feel these ways

I am worth it because I know I was molded and made by the one and only hands of God and even though I don’t feel wonderful about myself I know that God loves me then I am worth it

I am talented, a soulful songstress, an elementary writer, a clothing designer, a storyteller

I am, confused don’t know what I’m doing but with God by side I know that I will make it through life someway, somehow

I am who I am

I am…

Shaunya Regine Joyner

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.