Poets logo

I...

Poem/thoughts

By Paul StewartPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
13
I...
Photo by Angel Balashev on Unsplash

I...

...

I

I want to do better

I want to be better

I

I need to do better

I need to be better

But

Better feels hard though

Like walking

Walking through the dirt, the mire, the quicksand sludge

Fighting against demons, but not those powerful mythical beasts

The demons within

Clawing at me from the inside

Replaying and reminding me

of past mistakes and past missteps

Like an insurmountable mountainous task

Or an insurmountable mountain

Without a sherpa to help you reach the summit

Like...

....

Like working against the tidal waves as they hit you

Like...

...

Like walking through torrential rain and the strongest winds

Like...

...

Like going against the grain when your mind, body and soul want you to give in

Feeling every inch of your body trying to drag you into that dark place

Feeling every fibre of my being pulling me down

Pushing back is never easy

Especially when you are so used to making those mistakes

It becomes your reality

And better

Better...

...

Better is just a pipe dream

But

I...

...

I won't...

I won't give up

I won't give in

I can't give up

I can't give in

As

Harder worries me

But doesn't derail me

Harder stresses me

But doesn't detract me

Harder floors me

But doesn't immobilise me

Harder doesn't give up

But

Neither do I

*

Thanks for reading!

You can check out the rest of my work here.

love poemssurreal poetrysocial commentarysad poetryperformance poetryinspirationalheartbreakfact or fiction
13

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran9 months ago

    Whoaaaa, this was so powerful and uplifting! Excellent job!

  • Absolutely…. Everything is hard, but it gets a whole lot harder if we give up xx

  • Mackenzie Davis9 months ago

    Amazing! Love the rhythm, the pauses of the repeated "I" and "like." Your structure here lends so much emotionality. It's so impactful and relatable. I think my favorite part is the final stanza. "Harder worries me But doesn't derail me Harder stresses me But doesn't detract me Harder floors me But doesn't immobilise me." 👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Courageous & raw!!! Fantastically penned!!! Left some live!!!💕❤️❤️

  • But may I...? (Sorry, just feeling a little down today.)

  • Test9 months ago

    “Harder stresses me But doesn't detract me Harder floors me But doesn't immobilise me” Fuck yeah. You got hella fight brother.

  • Sara Wilson9 months ago

    I love this! It's so good! Thank you for sharing this!

  • Meg9 months ago

    Another brilliant poem, you have a way with words! This part struck me hard: "Fighting against demons, but not those powerful mythical beasts The demons within"

  • Rob Angeli9 months ago

    Great resolution in the face of doubt! Well written.

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    Heartbreakingly raw and beautifully written. Well done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.