Poets logo

Hyde and seek

Full moon poet submission

By Kaya ChewPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Hyde and seek
Photo by Daniel Jensen on Unsplash

Snapping at me with bloodstained jowls and teeth as unnerving as Simon Cowells,

Dad is starting our holiday with a severe case of jetlag.

Usually so docile, this murderous prick lurches forward, hatchet welded in his grip.

Swing!

Chop!

Mums hair drops in the water

as we awkwardly fling ourselves

from gondolier

to gondolier.

"Tuna or chicken?" I hear through my sobs.

My vision is fuzzy.

Nauseous with shock.

My eyes throb with pain as I strain to focus

on the sandwiches Mum expects me to scoff.

As I protest,

understandably distressed

a sharp familiar note vibrates on her lips.

"You haven't eaten all day that's why you're upset."

She snatches my wrist and my pulse grows inside it.

Trembling.

Frightened.

I'm tensely perplexed.

Does she not fear that shrieking from two boats away?

Or the piercing silence that interjects when a brain is ripped from some poor fuckers head.

How is Dad even capable of this??

Is this day something he will live to regret?

The sinister gleam in Mum's eyes is her tell.

She dreams of her hell hound disembowelling strangers.

She swells with pride as her Hyde destroys a city.

Chasing down their most expensive anniversary meal yet.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.