Poets logo

Hurt Locker

Morning After Musings

By Hannah HooperPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

Side to uncomfortable side,

Spinning, oh God, everything is spinning.

Thoughts racing through my mind,

Contributing to a massive migraine.

Thoughts running wild about the nights events,

What happened; what closed the nights end?

Blacked out I did before the party fizzled,

This morning I am so miserable.

Did I partake in things I already regret,

Do I need to apologize for things I have said?

Have I blurred lines once black and white,

How many chapter endings did I rewrite?

My memory has forsaken me,

Will not let me hear, smell, fear, or see.

Images from the occurrence,

When I was under the influence.

Maybe this is to spare me from,

All the pain and shame that comes.

Comes from burying my head deep in the bottle,

Not looking back; hitting the throttle.

Until pain I feel no more,

And away I fly; to heights I soar.

Escaping for the moment,

The moment seemed worth this bedridden torment.

But the morning after the temporary fix,

Emotions all over the place; emotions mixed.

Physical pain; only time to think,

Swearing never to pick up another drink.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.