Poets logo

Hungry Eyes Across The Bar

AJ Ballad

By Albert J. Clark JrPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like

Ever since that night I haven't ate

Ever since that night I've layed awake

Ever since that talk I haven't spoke

Ever since that spark I haven't smoked

(clears throat)

It's unexpected

My heart was confined for so long cause I tried to protect it

Unintended conception

It wasn't part of the plan,

When the arrow was shot this time I just couldn't deflect it

But it's a mistake, I'm not meant for this.

I know what you want, it isn't hard to miss.

I've tried to ignore it

but I guess it follows In my dreams

and when i sleep I hope to see you tomorrow

Though it seems

Now I'm counterstruct

I've tried the blue pill

And when one wasn't enough I kept popping them consistently until I was numb to my own emotion

Until I overdosed and realized it wasn't worth it.

That I.......wasn't worth it.

Maybe a fortune, but not affection.

Foolish to crave such connection.

I get it.

I've thought about the effect, in fact, everyday I do.

But it still couldn't change the cause of how I felt for you.

Now that Red Pill.

That red pill stays on me, I keep it handy

It's the reality of what I see and

what I need to where I wanna be.

But what cost for this luxury?

At least with the blue I was particularly myself even if it wasn't 100

See the blue is overrated,

it's becoming rare like high self-esteem and loyalty

That's the difference in most.

And the same in us.

At least I think so.

Got tired of playing it safe, that's why I left baseball

I was told to take base for Love, but yours takes all

Some say its the most important thing,

But now currency's more

I, too, have dreams for finer things,

But it's you I adore.

Maybe I shouldn't.

I've dipped in both sides of the pool

Drove and walked to a school

Fell through a two story window

Almost got shot with a tool

Seen both sides of the story

Broke and followed the rules

But its only from love my heart was ever abused

Mine is bruised with the edges of shatterd glass

Bright future, but i feel im still haunted by darkness past

Popping reds, but it's too late because it doesn't seem to last

I guess it's not my religion to be attendant to this class

But you stand out and it's hard for me to express my feelings

I'll lay with you in a bed while it rains with no ceilings

No kiddin

You deserve to be complimented like it's intended

If there was ever a time for a hero I must have missed it

Cause I would have saved your heart

My Hungry Eyes have yet seized to falter

But yours been too distracted to ever notice

Maybe I didn't notice, because you were the one who came up to me

While in service i've been through much pain, so your heart I wouldn't hurt it

But if it takes fighting a war for us to meet then it would have been worth it

(Starts singing to girl)

"Hungry Eyes

One look at you and I wanna cry

I've got hungry Eyes

I feel the spark between you and I

With these hungry eyes

Don't you try to run and hide

With those hungry eyes

Now, did I take you by surprise?"

(girl laughs)

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.