Poets logo

Hunger Strike

A Battle with Addiction

By Taraigh WhitePublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

A line for breakfast

Two pills for lunch

A racing heart

An empty stomach

Sunken eyes

Cotton mouth

Thirst that cannot be quenched

The life I chose

I want no more

Still my hunger I feed

Two more lines

For more pills

A shot of heroin

Weight loss

But my hunger grows

Again, again, again

This can't go on

My friends are gone

My family won't let me in

Suffering is all I know

This painful journey I make alone

No more. Please no more

No breakfast, lunch or desert

I hurt. The pain. The hurt

I'm going hungry

For me, for my life, for my girls

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Taraigh White

I am a 32 years old. I like to read, listen to music and dream. Sadly all I have done since high school is dream but at some point you have to grow up. I am working while trying to start my own business. I write poetry as an outlet.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.