Poets logo

Humble Not Broken

I'm A Girl

By Saffron SagePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1

Humble not broken,

I’ve been held down,

as another’s token.

Raised in a town,

with grievance to feel.

Always the clown,

pushed over to kneel.

Browbeaten and bruised,

sold cheep and used.

Never stand too tall,

it’s certain you’ll fall.

Ring your own bell,

they’ll send you to hell.

Determined to rise,

my eyes on the prize.

I take my feet,

off the path of defeat.

Closing my ears,

to the sound of my tears.

Bluebells and butterflys,

crisp apple crumb pies.

Smell of fresh bread,

permeates my head.

I feel certain,

as I close the curtain.

Promises of celebration,

missed collective calibration.

Choosing free will,

I atone my own bill.

No more to dread,

Macbeth is long dead.

Rising to the surface,

inviting my purpose.

Passion pulls my desire,

all my emotions rewire.

Still held underground,

nevertheless joy I found.

Impervious to gloom,

dancing my own tune.

Seeking the reward,

I alone can afford.

My spirit twists and twirls,

profoundly proud to be a girl.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Saffron Sage

"We accept the love we think we deserve."

What makes a life worth living? Collecting whispers.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.