Poets logo

Human

a poem

By BC PurchasPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by <a href="https://unsplash.com/@benjaminsweet?utm_source=unsplash&utm_medium=referral&utm_content=creditCopyText">Ben Sweet</a> on <a href="https://unsplash.com/s/photos/human?utm_source=unsplash&utm_medium=referral&utm_content=creditCopyText">Unsplash</a>

I’m a dance naked

In your bathroom

Girl.

I’m a bending

Back, bored,

Filled to the brim.

I’m a matter with

You and my mother.

Is there no other

Way to become

Who I am?

Is it this?

Is it me?

Is it them?

I’m a pull’n

All night, her

Hands wrap around

My waist as I

Contemplate on

Who I am-

Am I woman or

Am I man?

When her thighs

Match the twists

In a rope,

How will I know

When my exit is?

Is it this?

Is it me?

Is it them?

I’m an un-decorated

War veteran.

The Afghanistan was

Too hard for girls

Like me.

Her breath moves across

My land and I hesitate-

Wait, I say.

And is this-

Breathe, she says.

Is it me?

You’re you, she says.

Is it them?

You’re enough, she says.

I’m a go get her,

Too fast and a

Runner at the first

Sign of collapse-

Ringing in my ears,

Her breath

reminds me

I am human.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

BC Purchas

Full-time writer. Part-time podcaster. Constantly curious. Proud LGBT combat veteran.

www.bcpurchas.com

https://bcpurchas.substack.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.