Poets logo

How You Made Me Feel

A poem by Rowan

By Rowan RileyPublished 5 months ago 1 min read

I don’t remember much

But what I do I hold in my heart

My childhood passes like a breeze

I clutch the fragments I still have

The glass cuts with the memory of your words

//

You called me names

You fed me lies

The worst is that you made me feel

Like I was born bad

//

I was a black pit

I was a void of infectious greed

You didn’t sign up for that

But we can’t ever go back

//

I love you, I guess

It’s difficult

There is a string that ties me to you

Binds me to you

I can’t ever let it go

//

The parts that blur

The ones I don’t remember

Are easy to exploit

So you can be the one to rewrite the story where I forget

//

I don’t remember enough

I hate myself for those shortcomings

But I remember your twisted sneer

I remember how you made me feel

heartbreak

About the Creator

Rowan Riley

I've been writing since I was very young and am trying to put myself out there by sharing some of my works, both new and old.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Manisha Dhalani5 months ago

    I felt this piece. Very good one.

  • Vulnerable work, Rowan. Keep up the good work!

Rowan RileyWritten by Rowan Riley

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.