Poets logo

How to write your wedding vows

Revelation in the comfortable

By D.D. SchneiderPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

Ah, yes, the wedding vow

Tradition as old as marriage

You ask yourself “but how?”

As your future this shall hinge

Alas, I shall not write them for you

As this task is quite personal

Professing love in full view

The congregation a crucible

Here is a bit of advice

Merely what I would do

Not that you should read it twice

Memorize it, and repeat it on cue

I would find myself a quiet corner

Pour myself a dram of bourbon

Mentally lose myself, become a foreigner

Closed eyes, finding myself strangely urban

Slow and easy sips from the dram

Sink deeper into my chair

Release breath, water from a dam

Expelling all worries and care

Here now, on the edge of sleep

Open my eyes and focus

Am I comfortable in this heap

Or is it an illusion, pure bogus?

Is my comfort somewhat lacking

Something missing in my delight

Look now my comfort is cracking!

On this revelation, shine a light

Is it the pressure of tasks undone?

Work, personal, wedding planning?

Or the missing presence of someone

Thoughts of her enchanting

These first thoughts of solace

How joyous and whole I feel

Are the basis of my promise

these vows will soon reveal

Now with her filling my mind

Heart warmed with cheer

Pen and paper I find

Vows flowing concise and clear

This comfort I shall vow

Through trials and tribulations

I will hold onto now

And in all situations

See my friend this is my method

When I sit, think, and write

Inevitably I will be headed

Back to her every night

With everything right in your world

Everything in a moment you can ask

That comfort slowly unfurled

If in her presence you cannot bask

She is the final piece of the puzzle

To your life to be made whole

The words now no trouble

As she is your comfort and goal

how tolove poems
Like

About the Creator

D.D. Schneider

Writing is a hobby of mine, only a hobby. There are so many perfessionals out there, I'd rather keep the joy in the hobby than compete as a professional.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.