Poets logo

How To Write as Mine

Crafting My Little Narrative

By EllaPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Clem Onojeghuo

When writing I always start

with the skeleton and

muscle.

Usually this will suffice in

the essays, the reports,

the columns, reviews, etc.

on anything but the narrative

so it seems.

Bones and muscle with

the stray tendon does not

suffice here.

Instead I must continue to craft

beyond to the smoothing out of

joints and tapping the knee to

make sure it has the proper reflex.

Then I go to the nervous system

and here I must be delicate

with the finer details as

it is the most complex, always

in need of revision and I get

most of it but never perfect I

usually stop the nerve endings

before I get to the toes and

leave them alone, unfixed

and while most observers skimp

over this detail without a care

or notice I must devour my time

to thinking about these toes

with no feeling.

Nevertheless I move on

to the layers of flesh,

the final bodily edits

where I must make the little

details neat, add each hair

and each scar

and each freckle.

Then I am complete.

My body is finished.

Imperfect.

A reflection.

My little narrative.

how to
Like

About the Creator

Ella

I wish I liked coffee.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.