Poets logo

How to Demolish a House

From the inside out

By Abasa Aziz ibn HoracePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Looking back

I accept the fact

The biggest impact

I had being a Dad

Showing my son's

The Wrong path

Constantly passed out

On my path

Treating they mom

Like trash,

Taking them thru hell

An back

running from twelve

they calling me back

Didn't get far but I threw

away that sack

Everyday

Excuse after excuse

for the way that I act

Alcoholic relapse

Reflections make you recap

And you realize that

from you

Your whole family is detached

the new you look Like an act

Cause perhaps

To get back on track

You took too long

to get sober

Kids got older

They never saw you

with your composer

But one day

I'ma show ya

I'm different

From who I used to be

Cause Friday night

I used to be drunk

Passed out in a chair

Head clouded

smokin since

bout it

Bout it

don't doubt it

To be clear

I need

Air

and to be

Somewhere

disappear

But To be fair

Ill

Tell you why

I

shaved hair

An I suppose

I was a weirdo

With a scar

From my nose

To my ear lobe

And that's Before

the clothes

I choose

To wear, make u stare

If you assume

It's a costume

I know the change in me

occurred real soon

And I'm consumed

To live within some rules

To break the way

I was confused

From the truth

And one to tell you

Itll be rare

Ill ever ever ever...

come back in here

It reminds me of times

I shoulda done better

Definition of ashamed

Of your actions

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Abasa Aziz ibn Horace

Through his art, Harrell strives to dismantle the stereotypes that white North American media has placed on the Black individual and instead highlight Black culture and identity through Black people’s perspectives.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.