Poets logo

How Reading Saved My Writing

A Poem About the Joy and Challenge of Reading

By Yousaf ShahPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1

I Used to Devour Books.

Books were my faithful friends.

They took me to places

Where the adventure never ends.

But then someone told me

Reading was for losers.

That I should be a writer

And not a mere consumer.

So I stopped devouring books

And started crafting stories.

But something felt missing.

There was no magic, no glories.

I realized too late

That reading was the source

Of my inspiration and my skill,

Of my voice and my force.

Without reading, I couldn’t write.

I had nothing to say.

I had lost my spark and my joy.

I had thrown it all away.

Now I devour books again with gusto.

I don’t care what they think.

Reading is not a flaw or a vice.

It’s the water that I drink.

Reading makes me a writer.

It fills my mind and soul.

It teaches me and challenges me.

It makes me feel whole.

So don’t let anyone tell you

That reading is a waste.

It’s the best thing you can do

To improve your writing taste.

Read what you love and what you hate.

Read what makes you laugh and cry.

Read what makes you think and feel.

Read what makes you fly.

You write what you read.

So read well and read wide.

Read for yourself and for your craft.

Read with passion and with pride.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Yousaf Shah

Welcome to my page! I’m Yousaf, a writer who loves to explore different topics and genres. I use vocal.Media to express myself and connect with others. Check out my stories and let me know what you think.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.