Poets logo

“How I Met My Fiancé”

A true story based poem.

By Christopher “CJ” HerringPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
“How I Met My Fiancé”
Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

I came to a new city that’s where I saw him before…

I was dancing alone on the gay barroom floor…

I didn’t approach him caught up in the music’s sound…

Not to mention the many others he had hanging around…

I was new to Chicago and I didn’t know what to do…

At the now closed gay club that was called “Bistro Too…

Flash forward to a few years later and I still had no lover…

I was SO disappointed by others I doubted I would recover…

I was very disappointed but I was still having a lot fun…

I saw a “Gay Chicago Magazine” and I picked up one…

I usually got one that was not new to do…

What was different was I decided to place an ad in it too.

“Never give up!” and to my surprise…

In the first week I received responses from over 70 guys!

We got together immediately because everything felt SO right…

It wasn’t until years later I realized he was the same one from that club night!

That was 25 years ago and I’m happy to say…

That we’re STILL together and he’s my fiancé.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Christopher “CJ” Herring

Poetry from a Black gay male poet about the alternative lifestyle experience and life in general. Also, creative writing… I enjoy writing challenges!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.