Poets logo

How Hard the Heart Falls

"For small creatures such as we, the vastness is bearable only through love." – Carl Sagan

By Ash DigestPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
From Pixabay

This hadn't been what I had in mind

I wasn't meant to be anything kind

But here you are

Staring at me from oh so far

Your eyes, so deep and yet so light

Sparkle and giggle as I catch your sight

A shy yet inviting smile crosses your face

As I wonder how I fell into your grace

You hair tumbles down your shoulder

As you shift your gaze to a nearby folder

That seems full of old paper and sticky notes

For a story, perhaps, or studies...it's something that keeps you afloat

But how naturally your hair curls around your arm...

Seems to caress and comfort you from harm

That is who I want to be

Your protector, saviour and teddy bear to thee

I never smile and yet my first one crosses my face

As the light from your lamp catches your freckles

And turns them into diamonds that adorn your features like lace

That match your eyes little brown speckles

My face warms as you turn your eyes back to me

And trace your fingertips along my outline as if for one moment I could be

Something real, something that could actually be seen

But sadly, I am just lines flowing across your screen

A creation of your imagination

Something that was your addiction

Your art piece, project

But I could still feel your touch, darn it

How I yearn to be real

To be something you feel

Someone who would fight your battles as much as I could do

To be someone who loves you

love poems
2

About the Creator

Ash Digest

One of eight kids, loves photography, writing, sketching, painting and singing! Would add dancing, but I still suck at that lol. I love all things pirate, sci-fi, romantic and fantasy, and hope you enjoy this journey with me :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Ian Read11 months ago

    Loved it, instant subscribe

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.