Poets logo

How Does One Begin Again

A new life, a new start

By xandraPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

eyes wide open to soak away the tears

when I hear

i am going far from everything i know.

i don’t know if i’ll return again

to my sweet dear home town.

the sorrow that filled my heart

i never could forget

everywhere i look

reminds me of my misfortune

that not so long ago

i had a place called home.

relationships that were so close

and tightly sewn together

are now so very far away and

ripping from the seams.

as is my heart when I look all around

like a constant reminder

that I must begin again.

HOW does one begin again

when it seems like hope is lost

when you know you’ll never have

a friend to guide you when you’re lost.

HOW does one begin again

when you have no motivation

the days they come and go

but for you it’s all the same.

HOW does one begin again, PLEASE

tell me how

where do I start to pick up the pieces

of my once whole now shattered heart.

the pain is real and it won’t leave

no matter what i take

pain locked the door and

threw away the key.

really, How does one begin again

when everything is so new

does time really heal all or does

it patch it and say go in your way

your sight has been restored

go on your way

skipping and clapping

smiling and jumping

telling all of the miracle.

there will be some wounds that time

cannot heal

but still i’ll go on my way

because stopping is not an option

i must begin again

my sorry life depends on it.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

xandra

it is difficult to become an artist in a world where nothing seems new.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.