Poets logo

How Do I Leave the Void?

Do I Even Want To?

By Tyler DelmottePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
How Do I Leave the Void?
Photo by James Lee on Unsplash

A dark void encompasses me.

This darkness is commonplace for me; I’ve been here for so long.

Fear continuously invades my heart, sending me here.

Despite my discontent with this place, I can’t seem to bring myself to leave.

Do I want to stay here?

I open my eyes slowly attempting to adjust to the dark empty space all around me.

Suddenly, I see what appears to be a dull light, but is it real?

By Casey Horner on Unsplash

My mind playing tricks on me perhaps.

My knees buckle as I struggle to lift my legs one after another.

I move further into the void, following the light.

It grows and brightens as I move in closer.

My body starts to quiver when the light grows still.

What is that – a woman’s voice?

Graceful and elegant, the voice calms me; my fear falls away.

I raise my arm to my eyes, shielding them from the increasingly blinding light.

When I open my eyes, I see light surrounding me.

The void has dissipated as if it were simply hiding the light behind it!

A woman is standing in front of me now.

Where did she come from?

Her hair flows about her back and shoulders.

My heartbeat starts to race as I reach out to her.

I hear her voice again as she turns her head, but the words are inaudible.

With a sudden turn of her head, I’m pulled backward.

Darkness begins to fill my periphery as I’m pulled back into the void.

I look around me and once again, only see darkness.

How do I leave the void?

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Tyler Delmotte

Here to post my thoughts, short stories/excerpts from screenplays and poetry.

I'm also part of a podcast:

--https://soundcloud.com/aswedigress

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.