Poets logo

How Dare I

Surviving Cancer

By Dana FreemanPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

I remember every second

of that day

the day

my world blew up

I cried

to the world

asking for help

I woke the next day

a warrior

fight after fight

ever battling

cancer

I have scars

physical

emotional

spiritual

Now I have hair

health

Energy

A clear mind

A war almost over

what do I do now

that I am a warrior

Coming home

what do I do

with no Doctors

no scans

no infusions

no chemo

what do I do

with the gas in my car

the money in the bank

the time

I examine my body

every inch

fearing the strange or lumpy

looking at the road of life ahead

fearing I'll waste the glory of the mundane

if I don't impact the world

was my recovery a fluke

a waste

was another life more worthy

could they find a cure

for us all

how do I live with it

the guilt

why me

not someone else

how dare I

how dare I not be grateful

for my second chance

for every glance

every second

with my kids

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.