Poets logo

How Could You Not Love Me?

I Know The Answer: I'm Too Good For You

By Carol TownendPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
4
How Could You Not Love Me?
Photo by Brian Lundquist on Unsplash

How could you not love me?

I was there in times of trouble,

And I spent time with you by the double;

I showed you that I cared,

Even loved you when you weren't there;

I stood by you when nobody else did,

I helped you heal wounds from your pain,

I showed you more love than I ever showed anyone,

You deserted me,

Abandoned me like dirt for the sake of another,

I wondered why I even bothered;

You threw me away like I was nothing,

But, I tell you this;

I was everything she couldn't be.

So;

I asked the same question in my head;

How could you not love me?

A question in my present, I no longer ask,

Because I know the answer now;

It wasn't that you could not love me,

It was that,

I'm too good for you.

slam poetrysocial commentarylove poemsheartbreakFree VerseFilthy
4

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • D. A. Ratliff2 months ago

    Indeed, she was! Well done!

  • Kageno Hoshino2 months ago

    This is lovely

  • Jeremy White2 months ago

    Love this. Well done and great self awareness.

  • You're on a roll, Carol. Excellent work!!! 💯

  • Joe Patterson2 months ago

    Well done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.