Poets logo

How Can You Love Someone Else If...

...You don't know how to love yourself, first.

By Carmellita Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
"Broken Promises" Designed by Author (Carmellita) using Canva.com

I Promised to Love You

I've become good at saying what I don’t mean

But listen deeper and you can feel what I want to say

Distance and dejection would make you want to give up on me

If you did I would understand.

Love ending is just a matter of time anyway.

You see, somedays I can’t see past my own pain

I can’t see what you need so how could I possibly know what you want

Surely you know by now that my intentions and my actions won’t align

I need so much from you but I can say the words, "I need help."

I know I promised to love you.

That’s too much responsibility for someone like me.

I love the sight of your beauty, but I can’t speak life to its growth.

In my heart, you'd wilt and die.

My now is slipping through my fingers right now

How can I plan a future with you

I promised to love you more and more each day.

Yet, I give you less and less of me.

Some days I wonder why you haven’t walked away.

I should.

If you did I’d understand…

It would hurt, but I would understand.

I promised you love, but I can’t love you the way you want when you want me to.

I guess that’s a whole lot of nothing for something so great--

Precious and rare

Yes, you are precious and rare

I know I promised, I know

Still, I break my word with every word unspoken

Hell, even my eyes lie to you at dawn.

I don’t want to lie to you even I’m lying next to you.

Truth is, I can’t love you back

If I don’t know how to first love me.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Carmellita

A Writer, Poet, and Storyteller--"My Evolution will be digitized" through insightful stories in the digital space. I am writing for the love of writing, to share feelings, thoughts, and ideas, and to connect with other readers and writers.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.