Poets logo

How Can I...

Inner Crossroads: My Heart and Mind

By Sugan Ya Published 8 months ago 2 min read
8

How can I...

When my mind and heart answer differently to one question,

How can I Choose...

If I want to try something new, a craving so tempting but expensive?

My tiny lab tub says, 'Have it just for one day,'

But my ticking bomb argues, 'How can you? It's not yours.

How can you spend someone else's money? Aren't you ashamed?'

How can I Choose...

If I love to read new genres, my tiny self gets enthusiastic to explore,

But my bomb of doubt asks, 'Why not stick to the familiar?

The fantasy, action, thriller you already have on your list?'

How can I Choose...

When I go shopping for new styles, exceeding my budget's reach?

My lab tub urges, 'Try something new; it's on your wish list,'

While my inner critic scoffs, 'Your style is already perfect.

You know, you're just a beggar!'

How can I Choose...

When I plan to go out after a long time, my heart pleads, 'Just do it, no second thoughts, I need this,'

but my three pounds intimidate, 'Stay in your own space like always.'

How can I Choose...

When I strive to pursue work, my 230 grams ache, pushing for my passion,

But my mind knocks, 'You're financially poor, why not settle for anything?'

How can I Choose...

When I try to love someone, my tiny self is already in a race,

Saying, 'Just trust; it's simple,' while my beastly doubt asks,

'How can you love someone so easily? What if you get hurt?

It's not like you.'

How can I Choose...

When I yearn to escape from this current space and fly far away?

My heart encourages, 'Let's do it, darling, live as you've always wanted,'

While my mocking mind retorts, 'You know you can't, or rather, you don't.'

Even though so many things are at odds within me,

I find myself constantly confused, stuck between them.

Stuck in the middle of nowhere,

wondering how my life will lead me anywhere,

I've forgotten how to make a proper, strong decision.

Surviving between two worlds is hard,

Really, Super hard.

I don't know

How to

But I have to.

I have to Choose, no matter how hard it seems.

Despite

How Can I...

listsurreal poetryhumorfact or fiction
8

About the Creator

Sugan Ya

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)8 months ago

    Great job- and I have never been ashamed to spend someone else’s money 💵

  • SRenaS8 months ago

    Beautifully written! Sometimes it’s just hard to choose..

  • This dilemma was so relatable! Awesome poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.