Poets logo

How About a Date Darlin?

Poem

By Gregory D. WelchPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
How About a Date Darlin?
Photo by Christopher Sardegna on Unsplash

How about a date darlin?

We can meet up in the kitchen for a little dancing and a few of our favorite songs

And somewhere in between my hand held out to you, and you twirling to me, the little sway we share, let's let our lips meet and dance together for a while

Don't worry about cooking anything or doing the dishes, I got these, you go sit down and relax, I'll come in for a few kisses when I'm done

Or what if we got in the car and picked a few random roads, chasing wildflowers and laughter

We can look for water towers with unguarded ladders and be a little adventurous

Don't worry about a thing darlin, I've got you, I'll always be right by your side, big lopsided grin and ready to steal a few kisses too

Let's find a few more places to sit together, to talk about a little bit of everything and nothing at all

How about a date to the coffee shop, we can sit together and pass stories back and forth, talking books we love, and books we want to read, our eyes meeting and your eyes holding mine, that little grin of yours when you catching me peeking and that little grin of mine that says so much

Lean in darlin and I'll let you in on a secret, I don't really care where we go as long as I'm with you, cause truth be told, anywhere with you is my favorite place

Let's pick a spot, pull over and chat for a while, maybe there will be somewhere for us to get out and walk around, maybe a hill to climb and a wobbly old sun about to set, we can cuddle up close and forget all about it as we get lost in one another

Hey beautiful, let's go to our spot and see if the wildflowers are popping up yet, we can sit on one of the big rocks or maybe down at the bench, scooted in close, my arm around you and all that laughter shared between us

Lean in darlin, let me hold your face and look at you with a little grin, whatcha say, how about a kiss or two?

And somewhere in between my hand held out to you, and you twirling to me, the little sway we share, let's let our lips meet and dance together for a while

Hey babe, let's head out to our special place and see if the wildflowers are waking up, we can climb to the top of the little hill and see what sights we can see, or we can sit on one of the big rocks, or maybe down at the bench cuddled up and talking about a little of everything and nothing at all

So, whatcha say beautiful? How about a date?

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Gregory D. Welch

Kentucky poet & scribbler. Inspiring creatives to live a creative lifestyle. Creating with courage, passion, & purpose-fueled growth. Progress over perfection.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.