Poets logo

Houseboat

You + Me = Home

By Lydia StewartPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Houseboat
Photo by Lajos Szabo on Unsplash

I felt it when you left that summer,

When you drove hours away after our visit

Leaving me standing on my sidewalk.

You were a houseboat

--where I should be living--

and you were motoring to another mooring.

I kept staring at these four walls of my house

And thinking how unfamiliar they were

--without you.

You need so little on a houseboat

And when you love to be close

Even restless waters are safe.

When you visited again two months later

It felt like I had come home.

Even though we were standing in my driveway.

So even now, I anticipate the hour each day

When you ride the currents back to me

And make our house Home.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Lydia Stewart

Lydia is a freelance copywriter and playwright, watercolorist and gardener living in Michigan. She loves to collaborate with writer friends, one of whom she married. Her inspirations come from all of these interests and relationships.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.