Poets logo

House on Fire

A spark in the dark

By Samantha DarlingPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1

When I met him, I felt something I had never been prepared for. Something along the lines of getting hit by a car and I still said thank you.

When I first met him, I finally understood what people meant by time standing still cause in only second I memorized every colour change in that beautiful field of green that are his eyes.

When he first said hello, I thought I was listening to a symphony and I knew I wouldn't get sick of this song if I heard it all my life.

I guess what I'm saying is, I didn't believe in love at first sight until the day he walked into my life. He said my name and I felt a fire igniting in my soul. My heart burnt with a desire to hold him close and be his. I became fully engulfed and my flames shown whenever he would call me beautiful and tell me he loved me.

The day he walked away I looked in the mirror and saw a firework that has run her course. The passion was exciting but it never really lasts. I become a charred home, once stable and welcoming, a beautiful disaster left it to ruins.

Now I stand, still rebuilding from the destruction that came before. Never quite the same, but I can be beautiful and stable once again.

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Samantha Darling

A poet & lover of language

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.