Poets logo

Teeth

Loss, Love and Learning

By Samantha DarlingPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1

Maybe I need you, maybe I want to but maybe I can't.

Maybe it's okay to lose you, like losing baby teeth, it can hurt a bit and usually I rush it along, hoping i won't have to endure for much longer but things do fill the gaps.

Probably not as fast as I wish they would because I still find myself running my tongue over the place it used to be.

I know you hurt me but I still miss you.

There is space and cold where you used to hang on tight to me. All I have left of you is a bitter taste in my mouth and a few second thoughts.

Maybe closing the door was jumping the gun, maybe I could have lived with the pain, maybe I could have kept you.

Now all I can do is put you away, lay my head to rest and dream of better days.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Samantha Darling

A poet & lover of language

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.