Poets logo

Hopeful Queries

Words unedited

By SammyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Hopeful Queries
Photo by Rowan Heuvel on Unsplash

The rooftop that shelters me will not hide the truth.

Nor the pillars that guard me and hide me inside a structure of security.

The wind will blow.

The wind will howl and knock upon my window as I fall asleep at night.

Cocooned in a nest of linen.

And as I lay there, embarked in a dreamless sleep, my mind will listen to the air as it whispers and nips at my ear.

Soothing my demons and answering my queries.

That we are and never will be alone.

When I wake in the morning light, I will see the sun peak through my blinds.

Feel its warmth upon my skin and the hope that it shall bring.

I will hear the gentle chirp of a bird,

I will smell the rain that had fallen from the sky the night before.

I will stand frozen at the sight outside my front door.

Because, home is beautiful.

Home is perfectly imperfect.

As is life.

My home and the bricks that hold it, will not protect me.

For what will happen, will happen.

My heart will break.

The scars that remained from your departure will be embedded.

But, so be it.

You could never leave this home even if God forsaw it.

I can feel you blowing in the wind.

I can hear you howling and knocking at my window as I fall asleep at night.

I can see you in the morning light.

You are here.

As am I.

You are all around.

You are not just in my mind.

For I love you, always and forever.

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Sammy

Australian born and raised and on the verge of turning Twenty-Two, I write when I am at my most vulnerable. Using fiction to heal and the truth to relieve, I'm navigating my time and finding myself through the written word.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.