Poets logo

A Question of Friendship

April 04, 2021

By SammyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
A Question of Friendship
Photo by Gaelle Marcel on Unsplash

You were still in bed when the rain started falling. I guess it doesn't bother you when the clouds are crying.

You blame your mind for those sleepless nights, I blame your mind for mine.

Because, as you lay there dreaming, I was wide awake still unwinding.

From those thoughtless words.

Those indecent phrases that fed my growing demons.

You smiled when you spat them and laughed as I cried.

No, you could not see them but inside- I slowly died.

There are ghost that haunt me and words that mock me,

Mirrors that I believe contort me. Or is that my blackened mind?

For years, I believed in the lies that he told me.

As a child and even now, I hold no love for my growing body.

Feeling used and useless has been buried in my heart and mind.

It is one thing to feel it and another to hear it.

From a friend, from an acquaintance, someone you trusted.

You believe yourself to be a victim, one of the unlucky that has experienced life's harshest treatments.

Be what it may, true or false, a victim can still be a bully.

Comparing trauma, targeting flaws and life status is not what a good friend should do.

Today, you whispered words of harshnes and revealed who you were.

I know my knowledge does not extend far, I know I have a lot to learn.

But, cruelty and judgment are not what I desire in a friend.

Take me as I am, who I am to be. Or pack up your bags and leave.

For my already broken heart cannot be torn by a wolf in sheeps clothing.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Sammy

Australian born and raised and on the verge of turning Twenty-Two, I write when I am at my most vulnerable. Using fiction to heal and the truth to relieve, I'm navigating my time and finding myself through the written word.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.