Poets logo

Hope

An inspiration

By Shahid AliPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Hope
Photo by Lina Trochez on Unsplash

I entered with no hopes to find a friend

I saw you and my smile knew no end

That one test and one cheated answer

Set out a test against our connection against reality

Just as our days begin

I already looked ahead at the day when it would end.

In the heat, we met and carried heart on our sleeves

Gradually as our days went by, I longed to stay back in past

Amidst the crowds, I would look out for you when people took breaks,

But I knew you would be my home there

Shared music, bought ice creams, rented washrooms

In the heat, we had done it all,

Not once but every day, out of practice

As our last day approached, I knew, I knew it all

The cracks in our sentences

The glum on our faces

The marks on our favourite places

The more you walk away to leave,

Your fingers slip and my heart gets numb

Now the distance is not in miles

But in the failed attempts to meet on time.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Shahid Ali

a humble poet

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.