Poets logo

Hope

And all that it breeds

By Angel AdagioPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
4

I’m not sure what’s worse,

Hoping things will get better (but not being sure),

Or knowing that having hope has never gotten anywhere good.

Having hope breeds disappointment,

And I’ve had too many kids from that.

“Don’t be so serious” they say.

I’m sorry, but the fun was sucked out of me UNWILLINGLY.

“Liven up”

“Loosen up”

SHUT UP

Loosening up got me drugged

Living it up got me addicted to the drugs

Addicted to the pain

I was addicted to seeing how much my body could take,

Yaknow…before it REALLY hurt.

That’s how I ended up on the roof.

One jump and all that “hope” would’ve been gone.

It’s unfortunate that this side of me lives in the depths of night.

Turn on the lights, all that “hope” is gone.

Reality kicks in; Truths show through

Pain ensues

So no, I have no hope. It hurts too much.

I just get by,

Knowing “HOPE”,

Never did me any good.

sad poetryCONTENT WARNING
4

About the Creator

Angel Adagio

Thank you for taking the time to read some of my work. It may not be perfect, but it's real. I hope you'll stay a while.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • SRenaS9 months ago

    Wow, this was just so nicely written!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.