Poets logo

Honey

Just Like You, the Walls Were Beautiful, but the Roof Leaked

By Andria RiveraPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
1
honey, honey

Just like you, the walls were beautiful, but the roof leaked,

and just like the roof, your eyes leaked onto your face, wet and warm.

With the state of grey I see you in,

I know, but this is not the end.

Your hair, a mess of brown.

Your honey scent all over me and I see…

I see the sweat on your brow.

My fingers trace the curve of your face as you close your eyes.

I think about them most of all.

The sorrow in them is familiar; like a crack in a wall.

I won't let you fall.

I know the darkness threatens to drown you,

but rest comfortably in my car, we could drive away from it, don't stall.

And as we drive on, we will see the sun rising and know we are bathing in

the light even as infinite shadows surround us everywhere in sight.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Andria Rivera

31, Female. Writer based in New York.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.