Poets logo

Homeward Bound

I left a part of my heart in my home country Puerto Rico, when I moved to Florida. And though I'm happy here, every once in a while the nostalgia overwhelms me and I feel the need for a trip back home.

By Cristina VelazquezPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
16
On top of the mountain, overlooking the valley. - Cayey, Puerto Rico

I feel a longing in my soul

A desire to visit my childhood home.

To feel the grass between my toes,

And the smell of rain hit my nose.

I long to feel the sun on my face

To simply vanish, without a trace.

Without stopping, I long to run

To fly straight home, like a dove.

To see the people, I miss

To hold them near, to kiss.

I long for gossip and stories

To sip coffee and relive days of glory.

I long for home; for my family

For the feeling of stability

For the love that comes unconditionally

And is joined by feelings of tranquility.

And so homeward bound I go

To recharge in the place, I know

I can always return,

Whenever I yearn

To feel the embrace of home.

inspirational
16

About the Creator

Cristina Velazquez

I've spent a lot of time imagining alternate realities, fantastical worlds and dreaming up fantasies in which I could escape to. And now I'm sharing these stories with you. Here you will find the inner musings of my imagination.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    So heartfelt and lovely :) I'm glad you're able to take those special trips back. Great work!

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Beautiful piece. Previously hearted.

  • Beautifully written!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.