Poets logo

Homefinding

A Poem by Keila Aartila

By KJ AartilaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
19
Homefinding
Photo by Danny Lines on Unsplash

When I awoke, I felt displaced;

existence dull, colors muted

restless, lifeless, not my place

to shine outside the drawn lines.

***

I found a path, a meandering trail

away from a dull existence.

Living promises less pale;

I find my shine inside of colors.

***

Existing within your soft tones,

l learned to dance to the colors of your soul;

I learned to dance to the colors of my own;

then we learned to dance together,

***

swirling in each other’s colors,

creating our own existence;

a portrait we painted together.

Now baby blue eyes lead me home

***

where three shine brightly together.

By Colin Maynard on Unsplash

Please share if you like this! Thank you for reading.

love poems
19

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Denise E Lindquist2 years ago

    Great!! Subscribed and hearted!💕

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    Very lovely :) I really liked the line, "a portrait we painted together." Great work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.