Poets logo

Home... Where I Rest My Heart

The best of life is in the simplest of things.

By Heather Hickman NewPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

Simplicity

I’m craving it lately

I’d like everyday to be jeans and flip flops

You know those awful brown ones I’ve had forever?

I’ll buy 7 white v-neck t shirts from Target

Fine… one red for days I’m feeling a little festive.

I want to wake up every morning and sit in the same quiet, with the same cup of coffee.

I’ll take a walk and then a shower, then dress out in my new uniform.

Sure, I’ll fix my hair a little, put on that same tiny smudge of make-up.

And then I’ll work if I must, but could it be at something I like?

Maybe I could cook for the homeless or teach preschoolers how to read.

I’d take my dog for a walk in the afternoon if my days were calm like this.

His excitement wouldn’t irritate me if my life were more simple.

At 4 o’clock I’d sit down to read for an hour.

You laugh because I never read,

But in this life, I would.

When I set the book down,

I'd pour myself a glass of wine

And I'd start to cook. If this were my life I would cook. Every night I would cook. Real food. Sexy food. Food that feeds the soul.

I suppose if I am planning the perfect day over and over

This is about the time my love would appear.

I’d pour another glass of wine

Maybe he would sip whiskey.

Some days we would sit at the table and talk for hours.

But maybe some we would just enjoy the silence of each other’s company,

And the warmth of being together.

Of course most nights there would be things to do. Clothes to wash or bills to pay.

But in the end we would find our way to each other.

Sometimes by the fire on the couch, others in the bed.

Yet again the energy would take different forms on different days,

Just as with the talking,

But still we would always come together, there would always be passion.

And in the morning I would wake up, sit in the same place with my coffee

But I like the idea of coffee for two.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Heather Hickman New

I'm a single mom navigating through this messy life trying to raise great kids and still be my own person.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.