Poets logo

Home Sweet Home?

You can go back but its never the same

By Michael TriggPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Home Sweet Home?
Photo by eswaran arulkumar on Unsplash

In my twenties I moved away from home, a long way away

Across the ocean, but not planning to stay

Why did you leave New Zealand? Was it a task?

We hear it's a beautiful country, a nice place to live they ask

After two years away I'm tempted to return

I think I've the right and the passage I've earned

I'm looking forward to my old home and hearth

Family and friends and good old New Zealand earth

The old home is just a twenty hour flight away

And the family when they hear the news, shout hooray

Back to the good times, a pleasant memory

Family, pubs, beaches and surfing so carefree

I left the new friends with no promise to return

Could not wait for the sun and the down-under burn

To sample the beer and the great fish and chips

And roast lamb and Kiwi onion chip dips

The first week home was rounds of great parties

Everyone greeted me with much hales and hearties

But after a week, the bloom was gone from rose

Everyone had work and deals to close

Get together's dropped off, there were kiddies to care for

Pubbing, parties and good times were swept out the door

Alone with my thoughts my mind wandered back overseas

To my new friends who partied and pubbed with ease

Can you travel back home and expect to return?

To your old life and old ways and prereturn?

People change in time and tend to move on

Old lives end and new beginnings are then passed upon

One cannot go back to a past once enjoyed

And expect to be welcomed with arms overjoyed

People change and so do you

Time alters all, stands quite true

The Author

If you have any comments, disagreements, or additional information on this post, please contact me through my direct email, handshakeconsultantsATshaw.ca or on my website.

Or, follow me on TWITTER, FACEBOOK & LINKEDIN

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Michael Trigg

I love writing and I think it shows in my posts. I also enjoy feedback, particularly of the constructive kind. Some people think I am past my "best before date" but if that is true, it just means I have matured.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.