Poets logo

Home

Where I belong

By Leslie FriasPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

From the fresh sweet scent of cocoa beans where the palm trees dance and the ocean kisses my skin

Dominican republic

Where the roosters cluck at dawn and the smell of brewing coffee embraces your senses

My grandparents house

Where i lie looking up at doe brown eyes, sleeping soundly

In my lover’s arms

Grabbing my sheets , tugging and pulling, while you growl in your sleep

My pitbull

Laying on my couch lazily, reading a horror novel

In the comfort of my house

I long for home

To the place my soul rests and my spirit ignites

The peace and the stillness of time

The embrace of my grandparents and our ancestral homeland

The wet kisses of my elderly dog on my somber days

The embrace of a lost lover

My home

Where i belong

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Leslie Frias

My name is Leslie. I have been writting since I was in elementary school, and have always been afraid to show my work to others. I hope to share myself on this platform with like minded individuals. Thank you for providing a safe space.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.