Poets logo

Home Is Wherever I Left A Little Piece Of My Heart

Home is the people and places I love

By Colleen Millsteed Published 3 years ago 2 min read
21
Home Is Wherever I Left A Little Piece Of My Heart
Photo by nate rayfield on Unsplash

Home, where exactly is the place I call home

Is it in a bustling city or a rural country town,

Does it mean a particular building or house

Or an old faded comfortable dressing gown?

***

No, none of all that is the place I call home

Home is all about the love I feel in my soul,

The love of the people buried deeply inside

A few special people who make my life whole.

***

Top of that list would be my two amazing Sons

Time in their company evokes a special feeling,

A smile, a hug and the words I love you Mum

Instantly takes me home and I start the healing.

***

My two older Sisters and my younger Brother

Teleport me home instantaneously at will,

The sound of their voices or a peel of laughter

All take me home where I can relax and be still.

***

Memories can also take me home when I allow

Remember a small country town in my youth,

Home to my teenage years where I felt love

Living authentically comfortable in my truth.

***

A section of a sandy beach not special to others

Blue ocean, white sand and a slanted palm tree,

Happy days spent as I found home in a lost soul

His loving heart, for awhile, set my heart free.

***

A solitary camping trip in the tropical rainforest

Home found as I sit on the flowing river banks,

Communing with Mother Nature and Universe

Filling with calm and peace while giving thanks.

***

A full moon slow stroll on a white sandy beach

My hand held so lovingly by the love of my life,

At home discussing all our wishes and dreams

Days after celebrating we’re now man and wife.

***

As you can see home is not always set in stone

It’s all expansive fluidity of a heart that roams,

With a pit stop here and a detour on the way

As this heart moves softly from home to home.

********************************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

love poems
21

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.