Poets logo

Home Is Where They Are

Home is not a place but a feeling

By Shannon Published 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Photo by Author

I have felt at Home in the house we bought as newlyweds

And in the apartment, we took up when our baby just started to walk

But I have also felt it in a restaurant

And in a park

And even in our car while we take a nightly drive

Home has never felt like a place

Home has always been where they are.

Home is with my husband: my lover, my best friend, my soulmate, my human

It’s in his arms when we’re watching a movie

When I’ve had a bad day

Or I’m lonely

Or when we make love

It’s in his eyes when he looks at me

Or how he gets excited over his interests

It’s in the conversations we hold

The inside jokes we share

The flirtatious exchanges.

Home is with my daughter: my little bear, my salvation, my favorite little person, my pride and joy.

It’s in her laughter

Her creativity

Her compassion

It’s in every challenge met

Every new beginning

And every chapter closed

It’s in all the hugs

And kisses

The “I love you, Mama.”

Our house may change

As well as the things that reside there

But I will always be Home as long as their love lives in my heart.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Shannon

Mental health advocate * Self-care enthusiast * Eclectic witch * Mentor * Writer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.