Poets logo

Home is Where The Heart is

uh huh sure it is

By j.d. davisPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Where do I feel safe?

Where do I feel whole?

Where can I find myself without the slightest empty?

That is where you find home?

That is your challenge to me?

Is it in a church, cathedral, mosque?

It is for many more than many.

But it is not home for me.

I believe in God.

But the buildings supposedly inhabited by gods?

That is not my home.

Is it in the schools and buildings of learning?

I believe in Science.

I find History vital to the future.

I believe that Math shows us how God thinks.

That is not my home.

I lay down with my children to cuddle them to sleep.

I feel immense love.

I know that I would sacrifice all.

I am not home.

I look at the joy my wife feels in family.

I love her smile more than my own breath.

I understand it.

I agree with it.

I am still without rest.

My home rests within me.

My home is a constant sea of internal unrest.

My home is without peace.

My home is with pain.

My home is the madness inside of me.

My home is the eye of a beautiful storm.

I know no other way than to exist in madness.

What do you call it?

I call it…

…home

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

j.d. davis

Seeker. Thinker. Melancholy. Conflicted believer. Evolving human. Bipolar being. And sometimes I use bad words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.