Poets logo

Home in You

Finding Myself, Finding My Home

By Misty RaePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
12
2 misfits, free to be silly

There were times I didn’t know where to turn

Drowning,

In a sea of others’ wants and needs,

Trying to fit it in,

Desperate to hide the ugly truth.

The world was a foreign place,

I didn’t feel right,

A square peg in a series of round holes.

I was destined to remain alone.

Until I saw your eyes,

Deep and blue,

The wisdom of the ages,

Of a thousand lives lived,

Simmering,

Just below the surface,

Masked ever so softly,

By the excited twinkle of a naughty child.

You took my hand and held me close,

No price,

No reservation,

And in your soft, loving arms,

I found salvation.

Safe and warm,

I felt protected,

You held me tight,

But let me soar,

As far and high as I wanted,

Always waiting to welcome me back,

Into those eyes,

Into those arms,

Into my home.

love poems
12

About the Creator

Misty Rae

Retired legal eagle, nature love, wife, mother of boys and cats, chef, and trying to learn to play the guitar. I play with paint and words. Living my "middle years" like a teenager and loving every second of it!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Jenna Newcomb2 years ago

    Beautifully written♡♡♡

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Wonderful poem entry! Re-read. Previously hearted💖💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.