Poets logo

Home

Coming Home

By RiaPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
3

There's nothing like coming home after a long period of good travel -

unpacking all your treasures and cleaning what you took with you.

I don't mean just the carry-ons and baggage you checked in.

I am changed, I am better, and I know what home really is - it's not people (can be, but is not always),

it's where my heart is.

It's this space that I always come back to, that I carry with me when I move through these man-made lines;

It's me, it's the square footage in this world I call mine in all my rights, for it's what I claimed, then created & curated with pieces of my soul.

And as I look around at it anew, it's beautiful.

And as much as my mind might wrestle with me about my worth and being good enough,

it's hard to not win this fight when the physical evidence of the contrary is what I exist within.

surreal poetry
3

About the Creator

Ria

Sharing thoughts & swapping stories have been the most human things about humans. Out here trying to live that more. With you.

Find me on Medium: https://medium.com/@pal96

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin 25 days ago

    This is such an insightful poem, and I feel like this too! Nice job.🫶

  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    I love your poetry 💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.