Poets logo

Home Body

Home is not a place but a single special person...

By Megan Stockhill Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Home Body
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

Green iris flames peer slowly from the windows of your gaze

Which I hold like a fragrant bouquet of 'welcome homes'

Like the petals of purple scar roses scaling your stones

The walls of your strength baking in the nodding sun

Smelling like labdanum grown between lovesick nights and jet-lagged mornings

Notes of lavender ricochet off your skin

Bleeding into juniper tempos and mellow croon of amber

Your heart before me like a painted red door

Slightly ajar as I run towards it

Up the road of your long, winding smile

Through the air I share with homemade curry smells

And into your embrace of warm cotton grey

Into the foyer of your constancy

As my fingers run through your silky auburn roof

I come face-to-face with the urgency of loving

And the intensity of knowing that you are my own

The body, the soul, the human I call 'home'

love poems
1

About the Creator

Megan Stockhill

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.