Poets logo

Holding On

and breaking crazy

By Shirley BelkPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
5
Hold On

I have a headache. It's a big old stress headache. I'm backed up and in a tangled mess of emotions, dark thoughts, and exasperation. I am a mother. And I am a grandmother. And to be fair, I just want to escape.

But anyone who knows anything about life, knows that's not gonna happen. That's not what mothers and grandmothers do. Not this one, at least. So, I take a deep breath. Sigh. Now, I've centered myself again.

"This too will pass," I tell myself for added comfort.

Problems. Problems we create ourselves by bad choices. Cycles. Cycles of insanity. Madness. Blending in madness and calling it method. Lies we tell ourselves.

I want to correct the writing outside of the lines so badly. To be a map that points, "go this way and not that!" But genetic propensity and clogged ears don't listen. Stupid, stubborn little lambs.

I was the blueprint in this mess, afterall. Guilt and shame cover me. Please recover from my "crazy." Don't follow. I have come from a long, unbroken line of crazy. Not unscathed, but wiser now.

Be better, I plead. I hurt when you hurt. Stop hurting yourselves. Break free, little birds and fly high above. Look down and see the earth framed in a different way. It makes sense from up there. Come see...please.

Hope. I hold on to you. So tight. And now, together, you and I can go on and my headache eases because I am above my own dark cloud of impatience and fear.

sad poetryheartbreak
5

About the Creator

Shirley Belk

Mother, Nana, Sister, Cousin, & Aunt who recently retired. RN (Nursing Instructor) who loves to write stories to heal herself and reflect on all the silver linings she has been blessed with :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran8 months ago

    This is one of the reasons I never wanna be a mother, let alone a grandmother. I want to correct the writing outside of the lines so badly. This line hit me so hard because I always get so hard on myself over things that I cannot control. Stupid, stubborn little lambs. That's how I feel to when I advise someone, they don't listen, they get hurt and come crying to me. Your poem was just so emotional and deep. I loved it so much!

  • Lamar Wiggins8 months ago

    This was full of self-realization and self-help. The kind of words that helps one move forward. Well done. Hope all is well. 💖

  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    😍

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.